Home > True / False

True / False

Goat cheese: Is it one of the richest in calcium?

Goat cheese

– There are several varieties of goat cheese. Such cheeses may be made either from raw milk or from pasteurized milk. – Goat cheeses are among those that are the least rich in calcium. They contain much less calcium than a number of other cheeses, like Emmenthal and Gruyere for instance. – Goat cheeses are a good source of protein. ...

Read More »

Is it true that salt does not contain calories?

Is it true that salt

Yes, indeed. It is true that salt, which is essential to our dietary balance, has no caloric value (1g salt = 0 calories). Also, let’s not forget that an excessive consumption of salt can promote water retention, especially in people prone to such a problem. Furthermore, the WHO recommends the consumption of less than 5 grams of salt per day ...

Read More »

Is it true that pistachios are low in proteins?

Is it true that pistachios

Absolutely not, this is not true. In fact, pistachios are a good source of proteins (about 20 g/100 g) and of dietary fibres. Thus, this food has the ability to provide you with a good sense of satiety and it helps you control your appetite. – The nutritional benefits of pistachios are numerous. They are beneficial to the cardiovascular system ...

Read More »

Is it true that sesame seeds are a good source of calcium?

Is it true that sesame

Indeed, this is true. Sesame seeds are known to be a good source of calcium. Moreover, they are a source of dietary fibers which facilitate intestinal transit and promote the absorption of carbohydrates and fats. Such a fact affects positively blood cholesterol levels. According to the USDA, each 100 grams of these seeds contain 975 milligrams of calcium which is ...

Read More »

Is it true that “lactose-free” milk is made just by adding lactase?

Is it true that "lactose-free"

Indeed, in general, this is true. Manufacturers prepare ordinary milk, which contains lactose, to produce a lactose-free type, simply by adding lactase to it, an enzyme that facilitates the digestion of the majority of lactose contained in milk. Thus, lactose is fragmented into glucose and galactose which are easier to digest. In addition, some people suffering from lactose intolerance may ...

Read More »

It is said that white chocolate does not contain cocoa… Is this true?

It is said that white chocolate

Yes, this is true. Although its name can make us believe otherwise, white chocolate does not contain cocoa paste. So, this type of chocolate does not have the virtues of cocoa that are found in cocoa paste. Indeed, white chocolate is produced solely from cocoa butter (composed exclusively of fats produced from pressed cocoa beans) mixed with varying quantities (depending ...

Read More »